Learning Python – Part 1

Tonight I went to the first evening of two, on how to program in Python, specifically aimed at teachers. The workshop was being run by Tanya Gray from Gather Workshops. They run economical, fantastic PD for Digital Technologies and I encourage you to check them out.

I’ve been a programmer for a long time, but I’ve never used Python, and I thought it was about time I took a look at it. And yes I could have taught myself, but as always it is finding the time, and this gave me the opportunity to block out some time and get to grips with it.

But the best part, was meeting a group of dedicated teachers giving up 2 evenings because they think that this is an important skill to learn so they can pass on the knowledge to their students.

However, of concern was hearing some of the messages that are being disseminated about what is required for some of the NCEA standards. We had quite a discussion about whether global variables are required to achieve at excellence  in level 2. It is such a shame that the standards are not being interpreted in their true essence and perhaps bad programming practice is being taught in order to “meet the standard”. I really hope that the CS4HS conference in Christchurch will clarify this and clear the misconceptions.

Anyway, it was a great night and I’m looking forward to making a game tomorrow night.

This entry was posted in PD and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

