Confessions of an LTR

I took some time out last year to see if I could make it in the “real world” again. I hated it – time sheets, no great professional conversations and output, output, output. So at the end of the year I once more set out to get a job in teaching. I found it incredibly difficult, I was in a new city, had no contacts and wasn’t even sure it was what I wanted to do.

I landed myself an LTR for this year, left my programming job and had 4 days leave before I launched into Term 1. I spent the first term running to catch up, but loving being back in the classroom.

Now for the confession. Being an LTR I felt disconnected, not truly belonging. I applied for permanent jobs elsewhere. But truly sometimes the grass isn’t greener on the other side. I was avoiding doing anything extra. No effort. No commitment.

So what changed? A couple of things – a meeting with Senior Management about what needed changing in the department, including a licence to make some changes and some great colleagues who have got me tweeting and blogging.

So now I am rewriting my junior programmes to make them more interesting, running a coding club to enthuse girls about programming and immersing myself in PD.

Who knows what next year will bring, but at least I will have made the most of this year!

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confessions of an LTR

  1. Raewyn says:

    It was a similar conversation last year with Senior Management that kept me believing too! It’s like you are doing the Dory thing…’Just keep swimming, just keep swimming…’ Then someone tosses you a line…..and you take a breath ….

Leave a Reply

